Click to enlarge
Price: $14.99



Before slow to speak’s Francis Englehardt & Paul Nickerson were full fledged adherents of deep house’s cultish following, the two teenage accomplices thirsted for a different musical elixir. “CORE–1992” is a tour-de-force of raw, unadulterated hip-hop from the glorious second wave of early 1990’s rap. This was an era when the music spoke for itself and the added amenities of flashy music videos and exorbitant major label contracts were nowhere to be found, when hip-hop was systematically revisiting the past, borrowing its most effective musical elements and creating a new funk that was capable of uttering pure truth through the dialogue of MC’ing & DJ’ing. From the innumerable contributions of the east coast underground to Dr. Dre’s collective of hardcore urban realism, slow to speak’s latest retrospective pays tribute to the unrepeatable brilliance of hip-hop’s peak, before gangster rap flooded the market with exaggerated posturing and the mainstream watered down the power of America’s other dance music with middle-class-friendly accessibility. “CORE–1992” is a reminder that deep house was by no means the exclusive champion of disco music’s fallout, and reaffirms that “fakin' the funk” will never be a substitute for the pure ingenuity of that special decade we call the 90’s.


1. Run DMC – Down With The King  
2. Pete Rock & C.L. Smooth – They Reminisce Over You
3. Gangstarr – Above The Clouds
4. Souls Of Mischief – 93 Til’ Infinity 
5. Poor Righteous Teachers – Self-Styled Wisdom
6. 3rd Bass – Steppin’ To The A.M.  
7. Slick Rick – Indian Girl (An Adult Story)  
8. A Tribe Called Quest – Pubic Enemy  
9. X-Clan – Grand Verbalizer, What Time Is It?  
10. EPMD – It’s My Thing  
11. Lords Of The Underground – Chief Rocka  
12. Eric B. & Rakim – I Ain’t No Joke  
13. Gangstarr – Step In The Arena  
14. 2Pac – I Get Around  
15. DJ Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince – Summertime  
16. The Pharcyde – Passin’ Me By  
17. Main Source – Fakin’ The Funk  
18. A.D.O.R. - Let It All Hang Out (Pete Rock Remix)  
19. Lords Of The Underground – Funky Child  
20. Naughty By Nature – Uptown Anthem  
21. Ice Cube – Jackin’ For Beats  
22. Public Enemy – Welcome To The Terrordome  
23. Dr. Dre – Deep Cover  
24. Cypress Hill – How I Could Just Kill A Man  
25. LL Cool J – I’m Bad  
26. Kid ‘N’ Play – Ain’t Gonna Hurt Nobody  
27. T.L.C. - What About Your Friends?  
28. Another Bad Creation – Iesha  
29. Chubb Rock – Lost In The Storm  
30. Diamond D. & The Psychotic Neurotics – Sally Got A One Track Mind  
31. Pete Rock & C.L. Smooth – Lots Of Lovin’ (Remix)  

Artist Title  
Label Cat.#  
Year Format  
2010 CD  
Additional Info.